I want calm and I want it Now

It feels as if Mel Brooks is directing my life’s version of “High Anxiety” these past few weeks. If only it were a movie!

It’s like the dream that reappears through the years where tomorrow is finals day at the university and you realize you haven’t studied. I always awake in a panic, realizing after a minute or so, I am not in college anymore. As a matter of fact, I have graduated and have a degree. Lately, though, on many mornings, anxiety is waiting on the pillow next to mine. OK. It is time to restock the pillows.

a funny-demotivational-posters-stressed

Calm down and relax is what I tell myself. Aaack! I want to know the “peace which passes all understanding,”  Phil. 4:7. Like many people, I want it now. Apparently, I am not getting the message. Time for my home remedy of meditating, praying, meditating and praying again. As with some medicines, it takes days or weeks to feel the effects. I continue on and add my spiritual chicken soup, The Power of Positive Thinking, by Dr. Norman Vincent Peale.

Ever since college, I have always kept a copy of that book, reading over favorite passages when I needed a shot of inspiration, motivation. I’ve learned to keep two copies as guests who begin reading it always want to continue and take the book home.

Dr. Peale wraps wisdom from the Bible around every day situations. Reading it is like sitting with a friend, a therapist and an angel. It’s a dose of faith, giving me hope again.

About situations in life, I realize “it is what it is.” Life cannot be staged like a movie set. Life is filled with the unexpected — disappointments, sorrow, surprises and joy. This week I choose joy. I am determined to find joy in the weeks ahead and awake renewed and refreshed each morning because of a good night’s sleep.  I am ready to take on the world and make my life better. No matter what. There’s no stopping me now.

The prayers and meditation must be “kicking in.”

Photo: http://www.fiz-x.com

3 thoughts on “I want calm and I want it Now

  1. Pingback: Keep calm and wait one more day… | medalshow case

Leave a Reply

