Honoring women worldwide

As I take time to reflect on the struggles of women for equality I realize that for many, equality is more than parity in the workplace. Basic survival for self and family is their focus.

According to http://www.weareequals.org, on March 8, International Women’s Day, women in China get the day off from work. In Italy, women are given flowers. In Cameroon, women dance in the streets. In many countries, the day passes unnoticed. We live in a world where a third of all women will experience violence at some point in their lives and where women account for 70 percent of the world’s poor. How can that go unnoticed?

In my heart, every day will be International Women’s Day. I will honor the sacrifices of the women before me and the women beside me. I salute those women who have toiled, persevered and endured under near impossible odds. I applaud those women who have used their access to privilege to provide opportunities for women with limited means and options.

Making a better place for women makes it a better place for all. Basic human rights — we all deserve them. 

8 thoughts on “Honoring women worldwide

  1. Pingback: International-Womens-Day | Flickr Comments

  2. Pingback: International Women’s Day | ilikesweet's

  3. Generally I don’t learn article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to take a look at and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, quite great article.

Leave a Reply

