Tornado warning

It’s another rainy day in Central Florida. It seems Tropical Storm Isaac will not cause significant problems in Tampa after all.  It’s the perfect morning for tea. As I sip my Starbucks Chai Tea Latte, I realize it needs warming.  I make my way to the kitchen. It is about 10:40.

Suddenly, the sound of a siren or alert signal breaks my thought process. I gasp. Maybe something in the kitchen has malfunctioned. The sound seemed to emanate from near the dishwasher. I looked down at the counter and realized the sound was probably coming from my cell phone. Oh, dear. The battery must need charging now.

I unlocked the screen and read the alert: “Tornado Warning in this area til 11:00 AM EDT. Take shelter now. Check local media — NWS.”

I go to the hall, turn on the light, and stare at my cell phone. Looking into the great room, I see my cat slinking around the sofa, peering out at me with a quizzical look. I decide to return to the great room and turn on the big screen TV. Local news brings relief. The tornadic activity is in the extreme east of my county which is far away from me. Thank God! Wrapped in relief, I believe all are safe. I express gratitude for my smartphone, text messaging, National Weather Service and GPS.

According to the news at noon, there were no reports of damage in that area. Apparently, radar detected a tornado but one never set down. Awesome.

I hear the occasional drip of rain on a puddle or whip of wind. I regularly check The Weather Channel. Hurricane expert Jim Cantore left Tampa. He is reporting from New Orleans now. It seems New Orleans is in the crosshairs of the storm. Meteorologists predict Isaac is on track to make landfall as a Category 2 hurricane near New Orleans, Wednesday, August 29, the seventh anniversary of Hurricane Katrina.

Not the kind of anniversary remembrance I’d want. I’ll send a prayer.

One thought on “Tornado warning

Leave a Reply

