Debby: Tropical Storm

National Weather Service, National Hurricane Center, Miami, FL, Graphical Tropical Weather Outlook, June 25, 2012, 2 a.m. (EDT)

I live in sunny Florida. Hmm. Let me rephrase that. I live in gray, wet and windy Florida. At present, Tropical Storm Debby is causing nearly perpetual rain and gusts of wind that make me think her status is greater than “tropical storm.”

Apparently, Mother Nature did not get the brochures with the invitation to play and stay in the Florida sun, a location that offers summer year round. So much for truth in advertising.

Summer began with a vengeance in the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic United States bringing record-breaking heat. Oh, and lots of sun.

Debby seems to have taken those brochures to heart, especially “play and stay,” as she remains nearly stationary off the west coast of Florida in the Gulf of Mexico. I understand the attraction, really I do. I enjoyed living on the west coast of Florida, in Clearwater Beach,  where the Gulf of Mexico was my backyard. The job, however, called me elsewhere.

The website of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) stated about Debby early morning June 25, “She is expected to slowly meander over the next day or so.” Meander? Really, the next day or so?

Debby, I think it’s time to dissipate. Take your threats of tornadoes, heavy rains and flooding with you. Let the sun shine. “Let the sunshine in, let the sunshine in. …”

 

 

Leave a Reply

