Midsummer’s Day

SUMMER
© Eros Erika

Tropical storms are developing in the Gulf of Mexico, threatening tornadic activity in southwest Florida. Disregarding the weather forecast, I have determined that Midsummer’s Day (June 24) will be sunny. In spirit, I will celebrate with my friends outside of the United States who have started reveling with feasting, bonfires and dancing on Midsummer’s Eve.

According to “The Old Farmer’s Almanac,” for the farmer, it is “The midpoint of the growing season, halfway between planting and harvesting, and an occasion for celebration.”

I realize the days will become shorter — not noticeable at first. But it is the cycle of life. The sun, obscured by clouds right now, is my visual metaphor this week. Sometimes it is hard to realize the sun is shining.

There are two daughters this week, I’ve learned, whose mothers are very ill. Their mothers’ treatments seemed to be working and the families were looking forward to the start of summer — early morning, soft summer sun poolside, maybe surfside. There would be summer plays, concerts and days filled with activity and laughter.

Not this week.

I feel the warmth of the sun. Even if I don’t always see it, I know it is there. I will dance in spirit this Midsummer’s Day. I know there are bright, sun-filled days ahead. I have faith.

I am grateful for this midpoint in the growing season; it is a marker of the harvest to come.

 

One thought on “Midsummer’s Day

  1. Its relaxing and inspiring reading your blog. The Frieda blog was a good reminder of how pain can be somewhat healed by one’s creation of art. I’ve been wanting to write for so long, and it took the loss of my job to really make the effort to write my thoughts, which in turn reaches out to other artists like you for a connection. Thanks! LauraJLowery.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

